Governing Body

The governors of Poole High School are the strategic leaders of the school and have a vital role in making sure every child in the school gets the best possible education.

This is reflected in the law which states that the purpose of the school governing body is to ‘conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement’.
The governors have three core strategic functions

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

As a foundation school, we are our own admissions authority, employ the staff and own the land and buildings.

The governing body is made up of 18 members:


NameTypeStart DateEnd DateTerm of OfficeAppointed by
Dr   Philip RylandCO-OPTED29/11/201828/11/20224-yearsCO-OPTED
Mr Jeff HartCO-OPTED07/11/201706/11/20214-yearsCO-OPTED
Ms Joanne OldaleCO-OPTED12/07/201711/07/20214-yearsCO-OPTED
Ms Marie-Claire MowlamCO-OPTED08/07/201907/07/20234-yearsCO-OPTED
Mr Martin BlandLA09/04/201808/04/20224-yearsLA
Mr Michael BeesleyCO-OPTED07/11/201706/11/20214-yearsCO-OPTED
Mr Paul GrayHEADTEACHER01/09/2015 4-yearsHEADTEACHER
Mr Paul ThynneSTAFF04/07/201903/07/20234-yearsSTAFF
Mr Peter WoodroffeCO-OPTED09/03/201908/03/20234-yearsCO-OPTED
Mr Ashley RowlandsCO-OPTED01/09/201631/08/20204-yearsCO-OPTED
Mr Stewart BullenCO-OPTED19/09/201718/09/20214-yearsCO-OPTED
Ms Tracie Billington-BeardsleyCO-OPTED26/09/201825/09/20224-yearsCO-OPTED
Mr Reuben HawkwoodPARENT09/11/201808/11/20224-yearsPARENT
Mr James LeePARTNERSHIP19/12/201818/12/20224-yearsPARTNERSHIP
Mr Paul TanseyPARTNERSHIP10/07/201909/07/20234-yearsPARTNERSHIP
Ms Louisa WayPARENT10/10/201909/10/20234-yearsPARENT


It meets together five times a year and is organised into a committee structure:

Strategy Committee
Jeff Hart (Chair), Ashley Rowlands, Martin Bland, Peter Woodroffe, Paul Gray, Joanne Oldale, Tracie Billington-Beardsley, James Lee, Reuben Hawkwood, Paul Tansey, James Adams (Obs), Sian Phillips (Obs)

Learning & Staffing Committee
Ashley Rowlands (Chair), Jeff Hart, Stewart Bullen, Marie-Claire Mowlam, Paul Thynne, Paul Gray, Michael Beesley, Joanne Oldale, Phillip Ryland, Peter Woodroffe, Reuben Hawkwood, Louisa Way, James Adams (Obs), Sian Phillips (Obs)

You can contact the governing body c/o Poole High School.;-